chemo day 4

Kirby had her fourth chemo treatment last night.   One of the side effects of the chemo is  fuzzy thinking.  Kirby is experiencing some of that today and doesn’t like it.  This is of course on top of sleep deprivation which all hospitals specialize in.  If you come to visit Kirby and she is sleeping, please let her sleep.

Getting control of the nausea is our current agenda.  If we can get Kirby to oral meds,  that she doesn’t throw back up, to control her nausea and her pain, the chances are much better that we can take her home.

Please, for now, no food for the Capen Weinsteins, the refrigerator and freezer  are full and we hate waste.

Thank you for using this site for info on Kirby and especially the scheduler.

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri Toto
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 15:21:49

    Kirby,
    We are praying for you.

    Reply

  2. Rebecca Berman
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 15:27:29

    I hope she can go home soon! It would be so nice for everyone!
    Thinking of you always!
    Love,
    Becca

    Reply

  3. Katie Shinberg
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 22:32:27

    Kirby-
    You’re going to laugh at me because I did the most ridiculous thing the other day. I’m currently at Emory in Nursing School and during genetics class last week we had a guest speaker whose son has a genetic disorder. Part of this disorder includes deterioration of sight, and this woman’s son is legally blind. A question was asked about what her son is going to do about college (he is now 14) and the mother responded that she was very worried about college because she didn’t know how a legally blind person could succeed in that environment. Therefore, I raised my hand, thinking I had an amazing solution, and said “I know this WONDERFUL school for the blind called Galluadet in DC. My friend took sign language classes there and loved it and she’s not blind!” As I finished my sentence I realized what I had done wrong but by that time everyone in class was laughing at me and I felt like a total ass. I apologized to the mother afterwards by explaining that Galluadet is a school for the DEAF, not blind, and that since I had been studying all week for an upcoming exam, probably had a mini-stroke when I suggested otherwise.
    Anyway, I thought of you when that happened and knew you would probably get a laugh out of it. I want you to know I’m thinking of you. You’re an amazing person with the biggest heart, as well as the girl responsible for my current earring fetish 🙂 I love you, Kirbead.
    ~Katie Shinberg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

