No answer? Joke day

Up-date:  Kirby isn’t going to be able to respond to all the text messages she has been receiving and that she is not actively monitoring her phone, or e-mail. The best way to stay in touch is through this website.

After reading all of the post on Friday night Kirby and I had a LOL on a joke posted by Jean and Jerry,

Iren, Kirby and Lana

taken by Regina

so we thought how nice it would be if everyone who has a favorite  joke posted it.  Humor is good medicine to add to the healing cocktail.

It has been a very good weekend.  Smith buds in from Vermont, California and NYC, brother Owen, who the nurses say looks like a lumber jack, also down from Vermont.  Robert, Judith and Aunt Jean get some R&R (bills paid wash done etc.) as Kirby is well cared for by her peer group.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meangina
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 13:56:02

    Well, since it is a joke you want, it is a joke you will get.
    The only joke bigger than Juerg’s face is what he calls his career.

    ps- i got permission for this joke

    Reply

  2. Nora
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 14:00:14

    Want to hear a long joke?

    Jooooooooooooooooooooooooooke.

    Reply

    • Abby B
      Oct 03, 2011 @ 15:35:57

      We can always count on you, Nora, for a joke that was written by 10 year olds 🙂 (Nora has spent the last many summers working with that age group)

      Reply

    • Yael
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 02:07:49

      Nora, I just cracked up on the couch, only to look up and see that this joke was from you. I guess I just have a ten year old sense of humor! Your jokes always get me.

      Kirby, the only good joke that I know (really) is on its way via snail mail so I can’t share it here too! But I do want to add that you look great!

      Lots of love!

      Reply

  3. Erin
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 15:26:45

    Kirby! I am so glad someone figured out how to upload photos. You look so happy. I miss you so much already! I wish I could have made it this morning. Hope you had a good night and I will write more very soon. Rest up and stop barfing so you can go home! As Russell would say, it’s a hell of a lot more fun that way. I love you with all my heart.

    P.S. Per usual, we were late for the airport and Lana almost missed her flight… but, she did make it in the end 🙂 We never made it Krispy Kreme but I am going to go and have Five Guys for lunch (as in a burger and fries, not five men) before I takeoff 🙂

    Reply

  4. Elizabeth Lerner
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 17:17:53

    My favorite joke is the interupting cow joke, but I always forget to moo at the end! I think I’ve nailed that joke twice in all of my times telling it…

    Reply

  5. Becca Berman
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 18:54:54

    I think I’ve told you the deaf, hard of hearing and hearing person by the pool joke? If not, will gladly do an ASL interpretation of it next time we meet 🙂

    Until then, here is a quick one, via my fellow Minnesotan, Mr. Keillor’s website:

    There once was a young man who, in his youth, professed his desire to become a great writer.

    When asked to define “great” he said, “I want to write stuff that the whole world will read, stuff that people will react to on a truly emotional level, stuff that will make them scream, cry, and howl in pain and anger!”

    His dream came true. He now works for Microsoft, writing error messages.
    (-C. Reagor, Highlands Ranch, Colorado)

    Reply

  6. Doug
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 19:00:56

    Did you hear the joke about the bag of chips? Bah – its crummy.

    Two antanna meet on a rooftop and get married. The ceremony was booring but the reception was excellent.

    A buzzard goes to board an airplane with a dead rodent under each wing. The airline attendant says “sorry sir, only one carrion allowed”.

    I told my ten best puns to my students the other day in hopes that at least one pun would make one student laugh. No pun in ten did.

    Reply

  7. Abby B
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 00:02:11

    Here are some good Mitch Hedberg one-liners:

    “Last week I helped my friend stay put. It’s a lot easier’n helpin’ ’em move. I just went over to his house and made sure that he did not start to load shit into a truck.”

    “I think Pringles original intention was to make tennis balls… but on the day the rubber was supposed to show up a truckload of potatoes came. Pringles is a laid-back company, so they just said, “F*ck it, cut em up!””

    “I saw a commercial on late night TV, it said,”Forget everything you know about slipcovers.” So I did. And it was a load off my mind. Then the commercial tried to sell me slipcovers, and I didn’t know what the hell they were.”

    “They say Flintstones vitamins are chewable. All vitamins are chewable, it’s just that they taste shitty. I’m glad they made Flintstones vitamins because I used to watch The Flintstones and go, “Man I bet you if I ate that dude, I would be healthy.”

    Reply

  8. Traci Oberle
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 01:11:31

    Knock Knock…

    Who is there?

    Smell Map.

    SmellMapWho? (usually comes out smell mah poo)

    Reply

  9. Nora
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 13:27:31

    I think I’m a different Nora than then one y’all are thinking of. I definitely have a 10 year old’s sense of humor though, i.e.:

    Q: What’s brown and sticky?

    A: A stick!

    Reply

  10. Meangina
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 15:10:11

    Here is a dirty joke!

    2 white horse jump in the mud.

    Here is a super dirty joke
    200 white horses jump in the mud.

    Reply

  11. Olya
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 17:40:31

    “What did the 0 say to the 8?

    Nice belt.”

    You’ve now read the best joke ever. You’re welcome, Kirbster!

    I miss you!

    Olya

    Reply

  12. Doug
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 18:12:30

    Call: What is a Pirate’s favorite letter?

    Response: I know, I know…..ARRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

    Call: No, me bucko….’tis the SEA.
    _________________________________________
    Typing of pirates…

    So a pirate walks into a bar with a stearing wheel extending from his zipper.
    The bartender asks: “Do you realize that you have a steering wheel coming out of your pants?”
    The pirate responds: “Ayeeee, and its driving me nuts!”

    Reply

  13. kirbysc
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 18:32:52

    Here’s a melt-your-heart joke, Kirby-Angel. Hugs, Kate

    When my grandson asked me how old I was, I teasingly replied, “I’m not sure…” “Look in your underwear, Grandma,” he advised, “mine says I’m 4 to 6.”

    Reply

  14. Brendan
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 21:03:50

    From Colin Quinn’s latest one-man play “Long Story Short”…

    “Everywhere the Jews go, they got chased out immediately. That’s why Shalom means hello, and goodbye.”

    Reply

  15. Mark
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 22:08:39

    You look great. Stay strong. Love cousin Mark.

    Reply

  16. Another Nora
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 01:19:28

    Well just for the comments about my 10 year old sense of humor jokes I am going to give you some nerdy science jokes:

    What do you call 2000 Mockingbirds?
    Two kila (kill a) Mockingbird

    A neutron walked into a bar and ordered a drink when he went to ask how much he owed the bar tender said “for you no charge”

    Okay and a 10 humor joke…

    Two muffins were sitting in the oven on goes “boy it’s getting hot in here” and the other goes “AHHHH a talking muffin”

    Reply

  17. June
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 01:09:47

    A chicken and an egg are sitting in a bed. The chicken lights a cigarette and says, “Well, I guess that answers that question.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

